Introduction to Statistical and Computational Genomics

GENOME 559
Department of Genome Sciences
University of Washington
Winter Quarter


Course description:

Instructional staff

Meeting times and locations

Prerequisites

Course materials

Course requirements

Examinations

Course grade

Home page

Class schedule

Date            Lecture Topic Programming Topic Reading Homework
Assigned
Wed Jan 3 Course overview. Intro to sequence comparison Introduction to Python Chapters 1-2  
Mon Jan 8 Sequence comparison — dynamic programming Strings Chapter 8 Homework 1
Wed Jan 10 Sequence comparison — traceback and local alignment Numbers, lists and tuples Chapters 10, 12  
Mon Jan 15
Martin Luther King Day
Wed Jan 17 Significance of similarity scores File I/O Chapter 14 Homework 2
Mon Jan 22 Multiple testing correction Conditionals Chapter 5  
Wed Jan 24 Motif search Loops Chapter 7 Homework 3
Mon Jan 29 Motif p-values More loops    
Wed Jan 31 Motif discovery Dictionaries Chapter 11 Homework 4
Mon Feb 5 TBD TBD    
Wed Feb 7 TBD TBD   Homework 5
The remainder of the lecture schedule is here.