Introduction to Statistical and Computational Genomics

GENOME 559
Department of Genome Sciences
University of Washington
Winter Quarter


Course description:

Instructional staff

Meeting times and locations

Prerequisites

Course materials

Course requirements

Examinations

Course grade

Home page

Class schedule

) )
Date            Lecture Topic Programming Topic Reading Homework
Assigned
Wed Sep 30 Course overview. Intro to sequence comparison Introduction to Python Chapters 1-2  
Mon Oct 5 Sequence comparison — dynamic programming Strings Chapter 8 Homework 1
Wed Oct 7 Sequence comparison — traceback Numbers, lists and tuples Chapters 10, 12  
Mon Oct 12 Sequence comparison — local alignment File I/O Chapter 14 Homework 2
Wed Oct 14 Significance of similarity scores Conditionals (Krzywinski and Altman, 2013), Chapter 5  
Mon Oct 19 Multiple testing correction For loops (sample.txt, seq-pvalues.txt) Chapter 7 Homework 3
Wed Oct 21 Motif search More for loops (sequences.txt, matrix.txt)    
Mon Oct 26 Motif p-values More for loops (my-pssm.txt)  Homework 4
Wed Oct 28 FDR control (pvalues.txtWhile loops (Noble 2009)  
Mon Nov 2 Motif discovery Dictionaries (small-scores.txt, mapping.txt, quants.txt) (D'haeseleer 2006) Homework 5
The remainder of the lecture schedule will be posted soon.
Mon Dec 14
Final exam, 8:30 am - 10:20 am