Introduction to Computational Molecular Biology

GENOME 541
Department of Genome Sciences
University of Washington
Spring Quarter


Course description:

Instructional staff

Please click on the links above for email addresses and office locations.

Meeting times and locations

Prerequisites

Course materials

Course requirements

Examinations

Course grade

Home page

Class schedule

Date            Topic References Homework
Assigned
Proteins and proteomics—Bill Noble
Tue Mar 31 Protein remote homology detection HHPred, SVM primer, Fisher SVM, RankProp, Protembed  
Thu Apr 2 Predicting protein function from heterogeneous data Bayesian networks, multiple kernel SVMs, GeneMania Homework #1
Tue Apr 7 Analysis of tandem mass spectra - I Review, SEQUEST, X!Tandem, Target-decoy search, MS-GF+  
Thu Apr 9 Analysis of tandem mass spectra - II Percolator, IDPicker, EVD, Barista Homework #2
Protein structure—Frank DiMaio
Tue Apr 14 Protein structure    
Thu Apr 16 Molecular modeling—Macromolecular forcefields   Homework #3
Tue Apr 21 Molecular modeling—optimization methods    
Thu Apr 23 Nucleic acid structure   Homework #4
Metagenomics—Ohad Manor
Tue Apr 28 Metagenomics    
Thu Apr 30 Deconvolution and linear regression   Homework #5
Tue May 5 Pathway analysis in metagenomics    
Thu May 7 Predicting disease state with k-nearest-neighbour and random forest   Homework #6
Gene regulation and epigenomics—Max Libbrecht
Tue May 12 Transcription factor binding    
Thu May 14 Transcription factor binding   Homework #7
Tue May 19 Functional element discovery    
Thu May 21 Chromatin 3D modeling   Homework #8
Phylogenetics—Jesse Bloom
Tue May 26 Molecular evolution (Zuckerkand and Pauling)  
Thu May 28 Molecular evolution   Homework #9
Tue Jun 2 Phylogenetic inference   Homework #10
Thu Jun 4 Phylogenetic inference